Holiday Reading – The Australian Women’s Mirror April 1947

Happy New Year!!  Still no sewing projects completed despite my having six weeks off, however I read four books while I was on holiday so that was something.  It’s been so long since I read a book that I wasn’t sure if I still could.  My reading consists mostly of Facebook updates, online articles and interiors magazines.  So as a result – I am pretty up to date with current events and my house looks fab!

We traveled to New Zealand – here we are at Kaiteriteri Beach under Mum’s fifty year old beach umbrella (I tried to fit it in my bag but it would not fit).

One day while out bike riding I dropped into the local library where I found three Australian Women’s Mirror magazines from the late forties.

I hope no-one is offended by the racist by lines on the cover – I can crop this or remove the photo – I hope you let know if you think I should do this.

I sat there and photographed my favorite fashion images and adverts. Aren’t they great? I particularly like the hairstyles and the illustrations.

The actress on the cover is Virginia Mayo.  I had never heard of her but I learned that she was in the original version (need to see that!) of “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” which we saw while in NZ – it was fun.  Nothing like free babysitting – thanks for that Mum and Dad and for lovely holiday.

I hope your new year is starting well.

20140130-154933.jpg

20140130-155056.jpg

20140130-155143.jpg

20140130-155820.jpg

20140130-160037.jpg

20140130-163333.jpg

20140130-163821.jpg

Leave a Reply

