Bursting with Buttons

I am trying hard to cut back on op shopping of late, due to an excess of hoarding, but here is a peek of some great vintage buttons that have recently come into my life.

My friend gave me a tip about a dressmakers dummy at an op shop in the Inner West recently. So first thing the next day I packed the kids into the car and off we went.

Sadly the mannequin was was tiny and I wasn’t sure she’d go up to size 16.  And I already have a tiny one.

I found the accompanying sewing box and this great tin – the buttons and tin were too good to leave behind.

20130802-202152.jpg

Next we visited my father in law and after the Boci Ball game he saw me going through the buttons.

He said he had been meaning to give me this little stash for a while – aren’t these pretty?

20130808-175227.jpg

First I plan to use the red ones on a cardigan – I love their art deco shapes and I don’t mind that no two are the same.

20130802-202000.jpg

The sewing basket (and the contents) is available to buy on eBay right now.

Shopping for second hand items is such a hard habit to break, especially when you have been doing it since you were five!

Yesterday I walked out of an op-shop empty handed after nearly buying a packet of vintage iron on motifs, including an anchor, a ships steering wheel and racing cars.  A pair of green plastic knitting needles with black tops and a set of Vintage Yellow Rose Sheridan sheets.  Do you know what stopped me?  No cash in my wallet!

How do you exercise restraint?

12 thoughts on “Bursting with Buttons

  1. Love the buttons! I don’t show restraint but I don’t like the word hoarder – more of a collector. I stop when I run out of money or room. When that happens….when something comes in – something has to go out. Although the rule can be broken for certain ‘finds’. I am running into 12 vintage singers sewing machines – so the rule may have to start being reinforced! Plus buttons take up zero space – so your good!

  2. Restraint? What’s that? LOL No I agree it is difficult for us seasoned op shoppers. I try to only buy the best – brand/fabric/quality etc. Life is too short for picking pilling off a jumper. I always grab tons of stuff and then thoughtfully cull my lot. Its helps a little…
    Love the buttons.

  3. Be still my heart! Those buttons were definitely a “must have” item. I wouldn’t have been able to pass them up either. To keep myself from becoming overwhelmed by my thrift store treasures, I force myself to bring a bag of things to donate back to the store before I allow myself to buy anything. Works most of the time. 😉
    Happy thrifting!
    Beth

Leave a Reply

