The Fifties Red Car Coat

I have been thinking about this project for a year at least.

I have a few pieces of wool, coating bundled together and several of patterns in mind.

I need to decide whether I can be bothered to make a lined coat. Makes it easier to wear and warmer. I’m still deciding which lining fabric to use?

I really had hoped to whip up a car coat before the cold weather hits. This is really all you need in Sydney for Winter, if you have a car. There are really only a few really cold days which warrant a full length coat.

Every one complains about how freezing it is – for months, but they really don’t have a clue how to dress for truly cold weather. Not the way you learn when you live in a cold climate like NZ, or even Melbourne!

Tips for beginner sewers:

Don’t be intimidated by the idea of making a coat. A short coat should be not too difficult as there is less fabric to handle. They are easier than tailored jackets as the fabrics are easier to work with was they are more spongy and forgiving and the lining at the hem is not caught in – easy!

Make sure you have your linings and interfacing together before you start sewing.

If you get tailored button holes done it will give your coat a more professional look

20130524-124519.jpg

20130524-124924.jpg

20130524-125745.jpg

20130524-130020.jpg

20130524-130331.jpg

20130524-130803.jpg

20130524-130943.jpg

3 thoughts on “The Fifties Red Car Coat

  1. My favorite lining for coats is the one that has a light flannel backing. I don’t really know what it’s proper name is; it’s usually just marked as “coat lining” as opposed to other lighter weight linings.
    Sounds like a challenging project.

  2. Hey, because I love your blog I have nominated you for a Liebster Award – go to my blog to find out what it is -http://rockabillystitch.blogspot.co.uk/ xx

  3. I LOVE the collar on the bottom coat. They don’t make ’em like they used to. I’ve always lined my coats in good quality satin, it always feels a little more luxurious than standard coat lining.

Leave a Reply

