The “Polka Dots and Cocktails” Dress

Bakelite Buckle www.quietvintagesewing.wordpress.comWe got invited out – which is kind of rare!   To a 40th! In Newcastle!  As soon as we got the invite this fabric sprang to mind and I unearthed the bakelite buckle, which is a perfect match.

Multistrand vintage necklace, www.quietvintagesewing.wordpress.com

Accessories selection – decided just to go with the earrings.

So, the fabric – First it’s polka dots – so what’s not to love?  And second – the tag said it was poly/cotton – I doubt that!  It might be polyester and viscose – as the dots are quite lustrous, perfect for evening wear.

The pattern is B5748 – I wanted to use it again and see if I could improve the fit (of the “All Singing, All Dancing” Dress)  and the low back is perfect for a summer occasion.  I achieved a better fit than the first time but the waist is too tight!  Whoops!

Lucite Handbag, Polkadot Cocktail Dress. www.quietvintagesewing.wordpress.com

All set!  Here’s the Bathroom selfie.  Nearly took the Lucite handbag for its first outing – but I got scared and left it at home!

I knew it would be a warm evening so I put in a cotton voile lining – this was perfect as it was steamy!

IMG_9379

Mark in his new trousers and his Marcs shirt (not new!). Scrubs up well doesn’t he?!

The backyard cocktail party was lovely, for our friend Susan who was home for her 40th from Germany where she lives with her Greek/German husband Dimi and their three munchkins.

IMG_9384

This is my friend Kathy and I – not the birthday girl!

IMG_9437

The beautiful Susan!  Happy Birthday!

I managed to make it through the evening tugging it back into place.  At least I didn’t bust out of my dress like one of the lovely waitresses did!  I spent the first half hour of the party sewing the poor girl back into her dress!!  It was so nice to be invited – we had a great time thanks!!

The Facts
Fabric:Poly/Cotton Double faced brocade fabric
Pattern: Butterick B5748
Year: 1960
Notions: Zip, lining
Time to complete: 7 hours
First worn: A friend’s 40th
Wear again? Yes please!
Total Cost: ~$45

6 thoughts on “The “Polka Dots and Cocktails” Dress

  1. Oooh, pretty pretty! I love that fabric – so classy and fun at the same time. 🙂

    Haha, classic – spending part of a party sewing a waitress back into her dress! Bet the poor girl was very glad that you were there!

  2. Really lovely dress. I purchased almost an identical poke-a-dot from Spotlight over the weekend (during their 40% off sale). Its a taffita blend that would definitely need a lining. You’ve given me ideas!
    McKenna

Leave a Reply

