Licorice Allsorts – Trace off your favourite T-shirt Tutorial

Striped T-Shirt, Black Doll, Offering Bowl, Licorice All-sorts, Fifites Puzzle
This picture shows some of what’s in my head. A frustrated desire to sew, what I am actually doing (selling vintage wares on eBay) and what’s coming up – a trip to Bali in a while.

Do you like this cute T-shirt I got on sale at Target recently?

I like its licorice allsorts stripes but the best thing about is the cut.

The body is cut like a singlet – with a small folded cap sleeve inserted – it has a very flattering effect for ladies with large arms!

I am going to attempt to replicate this design.

If you have a favourite t-shirt that is the perfect cut for you I recommend taking a pattern off it – usually simple even for a beginner pattern maker – just lay it flat and trace around. The front is usually lower than the back. Then add seam allowances.

One I had two layers at the front so finishing the neck edge was not a problem as you sewed the neckline first then cut nicks into the seam area, then turn it through and attach the back at the shoulders and the sides. Sing out if you need visual help and I will put something together.

Or you but that binding elastic stuff – which makes finishing raw edges fun.

Or did you know that knit fabrics (generally) don’t fray! You could just leave the edges raw! Too easy

I have been feeling so guilty about not blogging recently but my real job has been very busy with trips to Newcastle several times, new store opening set ups, getting the kids settled in with their new teachers and my eldest is off on his first camp next week – much anticipation about that! Mark has been away in Wollongong this week so that is big and adds pressure. And I was helping organize a school event – which meant lots of meetings – emails – phone calls and then supervision of the jumping castle for hours on Friday night. The kids loved it though.

I have also been listing lots of vintage goodies on eBay (might do a blog post about that). We are off on our first ever trip to Singapore and Bali with Mark’s sister and her family soon and I am trying to make some spending money. I am dreaming about lots of dinners out, the kids swimming all day and reading books – doesn’t that sound like bliss? Oh and I have a tonne of fabric that I want to get made in to clothes – I know it’s cheating but I think its a brilliant way to bust my stash!

5 thoughts on “Licorice Allsorts – Trace off your favourite T-shirt Tutorial

  1. Great to see you blogging again. I can’t wait to see how your T’shirt turns out. Yes, please blog about your ebay site. Do you also sell on Etsy? I love that site.

    • Thanks Barbara, I have been totally lost as far as the sewing has gone, I am so sad the Sew Weekly has ended. I am on Etsy, but havent sold anything, bought some bits and pieces – it’s amazing. I hope you are well xx

    • Hi Loran – it’s Vixil – not sure if you will be able to see it as I don’t ship internationally! Darling are you on Instagram? Some of us Sew Weekly women keep in touch via there – I have started working on a Kazz the Spazz inspired outfit – late I know. It’s brilliant for inspiration. Thanks for stopping by. Xx

Leave a Reply

