The “Weigh the Anchor ” Shirt and Bandana

I have written about my family’s affinity for the sea before but I haven’t worn anchors since I wore big plastic earrings with neon yellow mesh ankle socks one Christmas Day in the 1980’s.  My Dad’s diver mates gave such a hard time that day, about the anchors, that I doubt if I ever wore them again.

I found this shirt in a local oppy for $11 .  It had a couple of tiny red paint dots on the front which probably explains why it appears to be unworn genuine 1970’s vintage. Score!
The Bandana fabric I also picked up for $1.  It a polyester/cotton.  Heavy on the polyester – unwearable in my opinion – but OK for a headscarf for a bit!

After I washed it, Mum helped me to pin out darts in the back. I did the front ones and pinned in the side seams – making the shape more feminine. The rule of darts and fitting is that you take out the same amount on either side so they are even.

I did two little embroidery polka dots to cover up the paint marks. I changed the buttons to these fabulous anchor buttons I picked up in NZ.

It was a nice easy up-cycle. I recommend asking your Mum, or a friend to help with pinning out your back darts – it’s so much easier than trying to do this yourself!

I am wearing the “Cats Meow” Jeans that I made back in May for 40’s Week.  I have worn these a lot.

My Mum has been staying for a 5 weeks (Dad and my brother a week) helping me out but last Saturday we waved them all on their way, my parents touring up to Queensland and my brother back to Scotland for work as a diver in the North Sea. Its been lovely having all my family around – weigh the anchor!
Thanks to my brother Gav, for taking the photos at Balmoral Beach (not far from where Mark and I got married by the Rotunda there) – it was quite windy that afternoon and crowded as you can see.  I tried to disappear behind a palm tree and not attract too much attention!

The Facts
Pattern: None

Year: 1970’s

Notions: Anchor Buttons

Time to complete: 3 hours or less

First worn: To Balmoral Beach for the photos

Wear again: Maybe?

Total price: $15

2 thoughts on “The “Weigh the Anchor ” Shirt and Bandana

Leave a Reply

