The “It Was Meant To Be” Top

Do you ever go to the op shop find some fabric you just love, fling it over your shoulder because your hands are full of other stuff (this is a good day!).  Then you get home and realize that slippery little sucker has fallen off your shoulder and got left behind.  And then you go back a week late just of the off-chance it is still there – and it is!!!

Welcome to the top that was “meant to be”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

An alternative title could be the “Polyester Prada Knock-off” Top.

This photo is from: http://www.teampeterstigter.com/catwalk/trend-report-ss2011-walk-the-line/

Or the “Don’t you hate it when you finally donate that fabric you’ve had hanging around since the 1980’s,then it becomes fashionable again” Top.

The pattern was a size 10 – which escaped my notice until I had finished the whole thing!  Luckily it just fits and is meant to be worn tucked in (80’s style) so if I made this pattern I would make less snug so I can wear it out with out it bunching up weirdly.  Should have done a toile.

It’s green week at the Sew Weekly for St Patrick’s Day.  I know this is not very green.   I love to wear green and I think I wear it a lot – but I found  I had very few green fabrics in my stash and I wanted to make something quick.

The Facts
Fabric: Polyester remnant $4
Pattern: Simplicity 5843
Year: 1983
Notions: Interfacing from stash
Time to complete: 2 hours
First worn: To church, then the park for photos
Wear again? Yes, to work
Total price: $4 – but looks like hundreds – gotta love that!

Plastic jewellery and glasses – op shop – really cheap

Shell Earrings – from a friend

6 thoughts on “The “It Was Meant To Be” Top

  1. Personally I don’t think you could have gotten any ‘greener’ with all the resourcefulness involved! Great top Trish. It really suits you. And looks super expensive! 😉

Leave a Reply

