She’s a real Sweet Heart

Hello! I wanted to make a garment to wear my Dress Clips with – they are great on a Sweet Heart neckline.   It’s  Valentines Day this week – how about something Red?  So now my ducks are all in a row.

Source: facebook.com via

 

 

This is a project that I started months ago.  I love that 40’s look to the top.  I was watching my favorite childhood movie – Xanadu (1980) while I was sewing – I just ❤ that whole 40’s/80’s mash up:

Xanadu-Dancin’

I got stuck by the tricky instructions for the shoulders.    It has sat unmade for months.  Also, it’s too hot to wear wool in Sydney’s summers.

Even as I was getting the sleeves in (more gathering) the fit continued to look strange.  I ended up taking a big chunk from the back (I didn’t bother with the zip – thanks Wool Jersey).  This had the effect of hitching up the sleeve heads up into position.  I think sometimes you just have to stay with things sometimes.

I am pretty pleased with how it came out – I love wearing layers of wool in winter – so cozy and comfy and pretty with the clips.

The Facts

Fabric: 2m of Wool Jersey from an Op Shop
Patterns: Style 2788
Year: 1979
Notions: Just thread
Time to complete: 5 hours
First worn: For the photos
Wear again?: Yes – easily

Total price: Under $10

 

Wishing you love for Valentines Day.  Me – I went to the markets recently and bought myself roses, oriental lilies, peonies (love) and hydrangeas – all my faves!  I will be asking Mark up for a back massage later xxxx

 

4 thoughts on “She’s a real Sweet Heart

Leave a Reply

