The “Feet on the Ground” Dress

What does Pin-Up Style mean to you?  To me it means Vargas Cheesecake images from the 40’s and 50’s, sweet heart necklines, sailor style, leopard print and halter necks and legs in the air!   This week it’s A Pin-Up week at the Sew Weekly.

Source: allday.ru via Trish on Pinterest

 

 

I don’t do cleavage.  I prefer a more demure look – I am a Christian – it’s part of my thing.  Don’t do legs in the air either.  I felt weird about doing pin up poses – as you can see from the first shot – bit up tight!  But I was having fun by the end.  Thanks Mark for the great photos xx.

Did you see Maggie Alderson declared recently that “Leopard is the new neutral”  really Maggie?  She is biased I think – she has been a fan for years.  Secretly, so have I.  But then there was the awful moment a few years back when I was admiring a red and black leopard print in a fabric shop in the Sydney CBD, and two women appeared to openly laugh at me!  Actually it is silly that I care but it put me off somewhat!  These days I try not to give a fig about what people think of me.  Of course I still do sometimes I have feelings!

I love the leopard print skirt in September 2010 Vogue:

Alas I did not buy enough fabric to make a circular skirt, oo I have again used my go-to pattern McCalls 9400 from the 50’s, omitting the front box pleat.  The skirt a 3/4 circle.  It gives a similar effect to a circle skirt for a lot less fabric.

The top is Style 1568 from 1988 and features the compulsory sweetheart neckline and halter effect straps.  I chose this pattern because the wide straps offer better coverage, and the top is actually an feminine cut if you look closely.

I am happy with the way the skirt turned out and love the effect of the straight grain on the sides of the skirt while the centre front is where the bias is – it sits nicely because of this and is visually interesting too

The top needs more work, the neckline is gaping and it doesen’t fit well.  I was really happy with the attempt though.  I think it proves you don’t have to be boring to be modest!

Kisses!!!

The Facts

Fabric: Stretch cotton/Lycra from Spotlight – 3 metres – just made it!
Pattern:  Style 1568, 50 cents, and McCalls 9500 $7
Year: Skirt. 19050’s , Top 1985
Notions: Thread, fusible interfacing
Time to complete: 7 hours
First worn: October 2011
Wear again? The skirt definitely, the top – doubtful!

Total Cost: ~$70A

4 thoughts on “The “Feet on the Ground” Dress

  1. Trish you did pin-up in just the right amount and you look fabulous! I agree with your assessment and the talent of Vargas. A little goes a long way and modesty is a good thing. Love your Tiki room, the table with the blue lamp, yummy! Oh and thank you for the grain bias tip on your skirt, I had no idea!

  2. LOVE this! Such a great fabric and pattern! You might be able to take the top in with tucks or at the zipper? It looks too fabulous not to wear all the time!!!

Leave a Reply

