The Butterfly Ball and the Grasshopper’s Feast

Source: google.com.au via Trish on Pinterest

As a child did you ever read  The Butterfly Ball, and the Grasshopper’s Feast?  This was a trippy 70’s book the like of which I had never seen until a visit to my friend Stacey’s  house.  Stacey’s family lived at the back of her mother’s hairdressing shop on Rotherham Terrace, Miramar in Wellington (NZ) – know the place?  It had the 80’s pink and black sign writing on the window well into the 90’s.  Stacey was way cool, she had the Grease record (we never even had a record player),  her mum had big hair and smoked – and was pretty relaxed about things.  Even when the dog ate the whole birthday cake at her party held in the salon.  And she had cool jewellery, actually I pinched an orange plastic bangle from her once – I am so sorry Stace.

She came to my Dad’s work with me once – it was the week Elvis died (that was in 1977) – and I spilt coffee from the Cafe Bar dispenser on her pink  Elvis t-shirt – she was so upset.

Source: google.com.au via Trish on Pinterest

Source: google.com.au via Trish on Pinterest

 

 

What you you wear to such an event? I think this fabric would make the perfect frock for the Butterfly Ball.  Isn’t this fabric “Pretty Butterflies Cream by Alexander Henry”  just divine?

 

 

You can get it at  Fabric Traders. This is the new business venture of Simone of Beach Vintage. I have been a big fan of for ages now.  Simone has an eye for perfect shabby chic fabrics – all vintage roses and lovely prints, nothing lurid!

Just the thing for a ball.

Source: anthropologie.com via Trish on Pinterest

 Anthropologie -Lepidoptera Dress

4 thoughts on “The Butterfly Ball and the Grasshopper’s Feast

  1. Ha ha trippys the word going by the illustrations! do I know where miramar is?, my last flat before moving to Syd-e-ney was in Haitaitai just by the bus tunnel

  2. This just so gorgeous! Beautiful fabric I agree and beautiful dress – and yes just the thing to wear. I have never heard of the book but it looks like lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

