Snowy Wellington!

This is insane, it never snows in Wellington, it’s excessively windy, a fact I was in denial about until I moved to Sydney!  But it did today

It is a harbour city, like Sydney, it’s not supposed to snow near the sea is it?  It snowed up in the hilly suburb of Karori once when I was growing up from memory.   But today it did in Cuba Street and even out in Island Bay – a beach side suburb, and Plimmerton – another one near the beach.

Freaky.

I have included a couple of shots from a rare sunny day spent in Welly, in January, below.

 

Take a look at this cute little video.

<iframe src=”http://player.vimeo.com/video/27709878?title=0&byline=0&portrait=0&#8243; width=”400″ height=”225″ frameborder=”0″>

Snow on Cuba Mall in central Wellington (HD) from Ro Tierney on Vimeo.

Yellow buses, they used to be red but now they are in Wellington colours - I hate yellow.

2 thoughts on “Snowy Wellington!

  1. not only is it snowing in wellington its snowing across the country, down south in christchurch (which is not so unusual in winter) but also in auckland which is again by the sea and further north. How bizarre how bizarre … in 40 something years (ok i’m showing my age) it has never happened – and as a fellow wellingtonian I am a little disappointed I missed it!
    PS yellow buses you have got to be kidding me!

Leave a Reply

