The world’s most extravagant war-time apron

I thought this would be so easy, and for some reason, thrifty to make – ha!   It took three metres of fabric, excessive amounts of gathering – which I hate – as I really have to slow down and take care, grrrrr!  I also made myself do french seams and rolled hems a plenty, strangely I went all perfectionist – not at all like me!

It is another Sew Weekly challenge – A Vintage Apron, from ages ago – and I really wanted to take part, but of course I am months late in finishing as usual!

Gripes

This pattern has eleven pieces mostly all in rectangular shapes!

It took much reading of the guidesheet  ( I usually prefer to ignore the instructions and sew up garments the way I think is the quickest!).

It took me literally a month of Sunday (afternoons) to get this done.  Hours and hours.

And it’s too short for my long torso! Wah! Who wants an empire-line 40’s apron?

Fabric

Fruity and fun, and from Spotlight – I think its meant to be a quilting fabric – probably a little light weight for an apron for a big oil splasher, pasta sauce splosher like myself.  I do like the cherries, and note the apple button please!

Pattern

McCalls 2947

Will I wear it? 

Yes for greeting guests to special dinner party’s – just for a laugh, not risking spilling any actual food on it!

Did I mention I hate gathers, kick me if I ever get tempted again!


3 thoughts on “The world’s most extravagant war-time apron

Leave a Reply

