Stop me, before I volunteer again

Peonies and baubles in pink cake stand with vintage sheet as tablecloth

Peonies and baubles in pink cake stand with vintage sheet as tablecloth

What?! Christmas is the day after tomorrow?!! Life has been a blur of work, domestics, supporting my husband in his business, final chats with the kids teachers, decoration my church’s Christmas Party (for 200 guests) coordinating two gifts, flowers and cards for two teachers, and trying to get to the gym and sew, before we go to New Zealand in Saturday.

Vintage ceramic Santa Chimney Vase, Deer Planter and Japanese Fifties Musical Carousel Ornament

Vintage ceramic Santa Chimney Vase, Deer Planter and Japanese Fifties Musical Carousel Ornament

I know everyone’s busy but I really seem to have overdone it this year but it’s been blogging that has suffered the most.

Glass Vase filled with Tortured Willow, decorated with tiny Mason Jars, with cakestand filled with baubles

Vintage New Zealand Map, Tortured Willow in vase (so 90’s) decorated with miniature Mason Jars

It’s hard to devote lots of time to something that doesn’t make any money especially when Instagram is so immediate and gratifying.  So I am not apologizing for my slackness, but my life seems busier than when I started this blog and my lack of sewing has become frustrates me.  This blog should be called Silent Vintage Sewing, or more aptly, Copious Amounts of Opshopping, as that is the direction things are going!

Vintage tins in my kitchen with Acrylic Handbad Decorations

Vintage tins in my kitchen with Acrylic Handbag Decorations

The needs of my kids keep growing and I need to focus on my youngest one in particular next year. He’s had a rough time at school and I want next year to be great for him.

Vintage 60's glassware and comportes with baubles in blye, green and pink

Vintage 60’s glassware and comportes with baubles in blue, green and pink

Anyway – I will not make any promises I am unlikely to keep!

Christmas Tree from the garden in a Fifties Concrete Tree Trunk Pot

Christmas Tree from the garden, with vintage decorations, in a Fifties Concrete Tree Trunk Pot

I hope you swing by once in a while to see what I bought, rather than what I have made!

Baubles in Chrystal Cakestand and Cloche, with Red Diana Vase and Australia Tray

Baubles in Crystal Cakestand and Cloche, with Red Diana Vase and Australia Tray

Meanwhile here are some pretty pictures of the minimal decorations I have put up this year.

Red Baubles in Glass vase, Fifities Aluminium Apple Ice Bucket, Vintage Maori Dolls

Red Baubles in Glass vase, Fifties Aluminium Apple Ice Bucket, Vintage Maori Dolls

I wish you a peaceful, reflective Christmas and thanks so much for your support this year.

Fifties Hairstyle by Alyce at Sterling Hair, Surry Hills

Fifties Hairstyle by Alyce at Sterling Hair, Surry Hills

Lots of love

Trish xxxx

PS – here’s a link to my Hairdressers

8 thoughts on “Stop me, before I volunteer again

  1. Well I’m so glad you wrote that post as you saved me having to. I feel exactly the same! I’m constantly writing blog posts in my head & never find the time to actually get it out there. LOVE Instagram too, I must find you, look me up there too.
    Merry Chrissy, your decorations are gorgeous xxx

  2. Hi Trish, gorgeous pics. Love see your vintage finds. Particularly like the pic of you at the end – you’re so photogenic! Merry Christmas to you and the boys and have a great time in NZ, Brigettex

  3. In America years ago Nancy Reagen had a slogan against drug use, it was ” Just say NO” A friend of mine told me it was realy for all the folks who find themselves involved in everything!
    lol HAVE A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY, it will be that much better because of all you do.

Leave a Reply

