Thrift Life and What I bought at the Fifties Fair

http://designcherry.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/thriftlife02.gif

Thrift Life

The gorgeous Astred over at Design Cherry is starting a new regular “semi regular” feature called “Thrift Life” which involves boasting about Op Shop or Thrift Store finds – I said I’d join up, you are invited to join in too!

She is a graphic designer, that lovely banner and button are her work.  Her blog is a visual treat, her home amazing and her colourful friends are like exotic birds.

Do go and check out Astred‘s fabulous blog and I hope you join in the fun!

Fifties Fair Shopping

So to kick off my contribution to Thrift Life – here’s what I bought this year at the fifties fair.

I was quite restrained this year while shopping . The fact that the prices were astronomical did help.

The pick of the day had to be these glasses. I plan to them made into reading glasses. You can’t have too many pairs!

This male Calypso dancer figure was cheap. He should be on a frame, and have a female partner, but he didn’t so he was just $20.   He’s hanging out in the hallway.

Finally, I couldn’t resist this sweet tablecloth.  I love the colour palette and strawberries – I think it needs to be reincarnated as a skirt, I know, another one.

Other business – Wardrobe renovations

My husband had some time off this week so we went to Ikea and are in the process of installing new wardrobes. Very exciting as the old ones were original from 1971 – damp, dark staring to fall apart and woefully inadequate for our (my) wardrobe.

I salvaged the vintage door handles and I hope that we can reuse them on the new white Ikea doors.

We will do the kids rooms too – when we get time.  Meanwhile – there are doors and parts stacked in the hallway – that’s nothing compared to the six months we had with a un-assembled kitchen taking up half the room – piece of cake;)

20130917-163333.jpg

20130917-164128.jpg

20130917-164616.jpg

20130917-165012.jpg

7 thoughts on “Thrift Life and What I bought at the Fifties Fair

  1. sounds like you had a fun day anyway. Shame about prices getting way to high but that’s what happens when stuff becomes popular! Love the glasses.

  2. Remember when that wonderful friend said she would slap you if you did not buy those gorgeous vintage glasses… So glad you listened me, they are beyond perfect for you, and so glad you have taken on my mantra too! Love T.

Leave a Reply

