The “Cat’s Meow” Jeans

I am much more au fait with the 50′s as you probably know, but I have been wanting this  pair of high-waisted 40′s jeans for ages.  This week over at the Sew Weekly – its 40′s week.    I had some fun with 40′s slang in my post this week.

Mena and Debbie  have used this pattern, those broads know their stuff.  Wow, this pair of pants just flew together! I cut them out and started sewing – 20 minutes later I was trying them on! Hooray! Of course it took another 5 hours or so, to finish them properly.

They were a little gapey at the waist so I took them in at the centre back then had to move the darts over, to the middle of the back pieces, as they looked weird, too close together, after the alteration.  The waist band was too small – had to remake that.  Not sure what went wrong there!

They have a little bit of what we used to call in my student days “hungry bum” the centre back seam dissapears up your backside a little – I can’t remember what to do about this – lose weight?!!  It needs a full bottom adjustment.  If I had made a toile I would have been forced to deal with this problem – C’est la vie!

These jeans are the cat’s meow! They make your gams look really long!  And totally hide your muffin top!

I added 1cm to the outside leg tapering out from hip level to a full 1cm at the hem. However I think this was a mistake. Now that I have worn them a couple of times I feel like they are a little too full in the leg – the silhouette is not that flattering.

I also added a huge hem to finish with approx 7cm cuffs – as I noticed these was a feature of some 40′s jeans in my research. I wish I had noticed that they often just left the raw selvage at the sides, that would have looked keen. But I cut mine in the middle of the fabric so I had to finish them properly.  I am not sure if I will keep this feature – I would love your opinion on whether to keep them or not.

I used a metal zip because they are very heavy weight denim. I sew with an industrial sewing machine which is great for this kind of thing. I think I dug out my leather needles and used them to attach the waistband and top stitch it. There was quite a lot of “hand wheeling” going on but I broke lots of needles sewing through the bulk.

Thank you to my lovely friend Penny for sparing me one of  her precious Bakelite buttons.   She is my local vintage cohort.

I know I will wear these a lot and I definitely want to make more – I highly recommend this simple pattern, it’s swell.

All the photos on this post were taken by my dad Malcolm Blair – he is in Sydney for his birthday this week – we went out for a Yum Cha lunch before the photos (that explains the creases in the jeans) thanks Dad – wonderful job.  Time to scram and make birthday cake.

The Facts
Fabric: Stretch Denim approx. $15/m
Pattern: Simplicity 3668
Year: 1940′s
Notions: Metal zip for jeans, 4 machine needles, 1 bakelite art deco button exchanged for one childs plastic Samurai sword!
Time to complete: 5 hours
First worn: May 2012 – Dad’s Birthday Lunch
Wear again? Try and stop me
Total Cost: $45

10 thoughts on “The “Cat’s Meow” Jeans

  1. Really really like! These are soooo you! I always think this style is such a brave move, being so high waisted and wide legged but they are amazingly flattering. And those turn ups must stay! Great job Trish :-)

  2. Don’t change them – they look great! Do you think the fabric needs to be stretch? I have some lightweight upholstery barkcloth cotton that I have been thinking of using for high waist, wide leg pants like these.

    • Thanks Lynda. No I don’t think so – it just makes them more comfortable – which I prefer in jeans. Would love to see your pants – I think they would be amazing on you. I can feel a guest spot coming on, with a fabulous Singaporean tropical photoshoot to boot! We’ll see a Verandah Living blog next!

  3. Pingback: The “Weigh the Anchor ” Shirt and Bandana « Quiet Vintage Sewing

Leave a Reply

